International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA)

The Task Force for International Cooperation on Holocaust Education, Remembrance, and Research (ITF) was established at the initiative of the Swedish Prime Minister, Goran Persson, in 1998. The ITF continued in operation until 2013 when it was renamed the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA). The Alliance consists of representatives of governments and non-governmental organisations. Its purpose is to place political and social leaders' support behind the need for Holocaust education, remembrance and research, both nationally and internationally.

Full membership of the IHRA involves a three stage process. Ireland first became an Observer Country of the then ITF in December 2007 and then progressed from Observer to Liaison status at the Oslo ITF Plenary Meeting in June 2009. On 1st December 2011, Ireland became a full member of the Task Force and remains a full member of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA)

In applying, Ireland undertook to establish a Standing Committee on Holocaust Education, Research and Remembrance, consisting of representatives the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Education and Skills, the Office for the Promotion of Migrant Integration of the Department of Justice and Equality, Holocaust Education Trust Ireland (HETI), the Irish Jewish Museum, and academia. Supported by this alliance, the Government has worked closely with HETI and other organisations to encourage acceptance of diversity. One important HETI initiative is the “Crocus Project”, the planting of crocus bulbs by students in memory of victims of the Holocaust. This project has been exported to other countries including Israel and the United States, and complements other activities like the National Holocaust Commemoration (highly commended by IHRA monitors), teacher training and school visits by Holocaust survivors.

You will find the website of IHRA at this link.

^ Back to top