Resettlement Programme

Resettlement is one of three "durable solutions" for protracted refugee situations (the others being repatriation and local integration in the country of refuge). It involves the selection and transfer of refugees from a State in which they have sought protection to a third State which has agreed to admit them.

Ireland joined the UNHCR (UN Refugee Agency) led Resettlement Programme following a Government Decision in November 1998 when it was decided to admit 10 applicants plus their immediate families for resettlement each year (usually about 40 persons per year). The quota was increased to 200 persons per year in June 2005.

Details of all persons admitted as a programme refugee are held on a register of programme refugees which is maintained by the Office for the Promotion of Migrant Integration, in the Department of Justice and Equality.

Refugees have been resettled in 40 different communities throughout Ireland and in the four Dublin Local Authority areas.

The UNHCR-led Resettlement Programme has broadened significantly in recent years from 14 resettlement States worldwide in 2005 to 25 in 2015. This includes an increase from 8 to 17 EU Member States involved in resettlement activities. Two more EU/EEA States area are also involved in resettlement outside the UNHCR Programme.

Further information about Resettlement in general is available on the UNHCR website.

The Burmese Karen resettled in Ireland in 2007 have developed a website which is available at:

^ Back to top